Concealed carry applications will be taken Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday from 8:00am until 3:00pm. Many people are not eligible to obtain a Concealed Carry License, most commonly because of a prior criminal record. If you have ever been convicted of any crime, before filling out an application form or making an appointment to submit it, (Remember, once submitted, your license fee is non-refundable) you should read the Attorney General's informational booklet, “Ohio's Concealed Carry Law”, for details on what kinds of convictions make you ineligible to receive a Concealed Carry License. This booklet is available on the Attorney General's website or at the Sheriff's Office. If you are still unsure, you may want to consult with an attorney. THIS OFFICE WILL NOT PROVIDE LEGAL ADVICE OR INDIVIDUAL CASE ASSESSMENTS. You may obtain an application for a Concealed Carry License by downloading it from the Attorney General's website or by visiting our office Monday – Friday, 8:00 a.m. through 4:00 p.m. YOU SHOULD FULLY COMPLETE THE APPLICATION BEFORE APPEARING FOR YOUR APPOINTMENT. Clearly PRINT, in blue or black ink, all required information on the application. Your application MUST be clearly legible or it will be rejected. Failure to include ALL requested information will result in the Sheriff's Office refusing to accept the application. The Sheriff's Office will contact you via telephone when your license is ready to be picked up. Once your application is completed, you will be called ONCE. Several people have voicemail that is not set up. Please, make sure a message can be left. WITH YOUR COMPLETED APPLICATION, YOU MUST ALSO HAVE THE FOLLOWING WITH YOU: Firearms Training Certificate (a legible copy). We will make a copy at the Sheriff’s Office if you have not already. The Certificate MUST be dated, showing that you completed this course within the past THREE (3) years, and contain your name, and the name and a phone number of the instructor and/or location where you received the training, as well as the instructor's certification number. If within the past SIX (6) years you have retired as a peace officer, state trooper, Federal law enforcement officer, or have been honorably discharged from the military within the past ten years, or are an active or reserve member of the military, this Firearms Training Certificate is not required. BUT you must provide written verification of your former/current employment/military service AND documentation reflecting you received firearms training equivalent to Ohio’s concealed carry training requirements. License fee (non-refundable) in the amount and form described here: Accepted forms of payment are a personal check, money order, or cashier's/certified check. Cash is not accepted. Any NSF personal checks may cause criminal charges to be filed. All checks must be made payable to: JEFFERSON COUNTY SHERIFF'S OFFICE. Applicants who have been residents of Ohio for FIVE YEARS OR MORE must pay a NON-Refundable $67.00 fee with the application. If you have been an Ohio resident LESS THAN FIVE YEARS, the NON-Refundable application fee is $77.00. For a Temporary Emergency license the fee is $37.00, if you have been a resident of Ohio for FIVE YEARS OR MORE , and if a resident LESS THAN FIVE YEARS the fee is $61.00. For a renewal permit, applicants who have been residents of Ohio for FIVE YEARS OR MORE must pay a NON-Refundable $50.00 fee. You can renew your permit 90 days prior to your current permit expiration date. For a renewal permit, if you have been an Ohio resident LESS THAN FIVE YEARS, the NON-Refundable application fee is $60.00. You will need a state-issued photo ID (driver's license, for example). You will be fingerprinted and provided instructions for picking up your Concealed Carry License (or your rejection letter from the Sheriff's Office). The records checks may take three to four weeks to complete. DO NOT CALL OUR OFFICE to check on the status of your application, unless you fail to hear from us for at least 45 days after you have turned in your application materials. Ohio law provides this office 45 days to process an application. Please, be patient. Your Concealed Carry License can be picked up Monday through Friday from 8:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m. If your application is rejected, you will be notified of the reason, and advised of the appeals procedure via mail. If you have more specific questions call Sgt. Slates or email at firstname.lastname@example.org Thank you, Sgt. Gary Slates 740-283-8600 Office 740-283-8598 Fax
A value is required.