Concealed Carry applications will be taken primarily on Tuesdays, Wednesdays, and Thursdays, from 8 a.m. until 3 p.m.  Other days and times, including after hours and on weekends, MAY  be scheduled in special circumstances.

 

Many people are not eligible to obtain a Concealed Carry license, most commonly because of a criminal record.  If you have EVER been convicted of a crime, be sure it is not an offense that precludes you from obtaining a CCW permit.  Remember, once you submit your application, THE FEES PAID ARE NON-REFUNDABLE.

 

By signing and submitting a CCW application, you state, as it says in Section 6 (VI), line one (1) of every CCW application, you have read the Ohio Attorney General’s publication that explains the Ohio CCW and firearms laws.  If you are unsure that any past offense(s), of which you may have been convicted, will prohibit you from obtaining a CCW permit, it may be covered in the booklet.

 

Link to Booklet

 

If you remain uncertain, you may want to consult with an attorney.

THIS OFFICE WILL NOT, AND LEGALLY CAN NOT, PROVIDE LEGAL ADVICE OR INDIVIDUAL CASE ASSESSMENTS.

 

You can obtain a CCW application here at the Sheriff’s Office, Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. until 4 p.m., or you may download it from the Ohio Attorney General’s website, here: 

Concealed Carry Application

 

FULLY COMPLETE YOUR APPLICATION BEFORE APPEARING TO APPLY.

You do NOT have to provide photographs.  We take them here.

 

CLEARLY print on the application.  All of the information must be immediately legible or the application will be rejected.

Failure to include all of the information will result in it being denied.  REMEMBER: FEES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE.

 

In addition to a completed application, you will need:

  • A state issued identification card.
  • A clearly legible firearms training certificate that states on the face of it your training complies with Ohio Revised Code section 2923.125. (The certificate can be no older than three (3) years before your date of application.)
  • If you were honorably discharged from military service, a copy of your DD214 form. (See more information below)
  • If applicable, documentation that you are a retired peace officer.
  • If you do not reside in Ohio, but work here, written proof from your employer that you in fact work in Ohio.

 

FORMS OF PAYMENT:

 

The Jefferson County Sheriff’s Office ONLY ACCEPTS CASHIER’S CHECKS OR MONEY ORDERS.  We will not accept cash, personal checks, or credit cards.

 

FEES:

  • $67 for persons residing in Ohio for at least the last five (5) consecutive years.
  • $77 if you have been an Ohio resident for LESS than five (5) years.
  • $37 for a Temporary Emergency license, IF you have been an Ohio resident for the past five (5) consecutive years.
    • If you’ve been an Ohio resident for less than five (5) years, the fee is $61
  • $50 to renew a CCW license.
    • If your CCW card has expired, you DO NOT HAVE TO TAKE ANOTHER COURSE. You only have to renew.
    • It is a good idea to renew your permit BEFORE it expires.

 

There are no fees for honorably discharged US service members or retired peace officers.

 

Important:

Most applicants receive their CCW permit shortly after the application is submitted, the same day. HOWEVER, some people may have to wait, depending on what their state and federal background check reveals.  Should you have a criminal history, a more in-depth investigation will need to be completed.

In-depth background checks can take time, especially if you have a lengthy criminal history.

In the event you do not receive your license because of a background check investigation, Ohio law affords this office forty-five (45) days to complete the investigation and to either issue, or deny your permit.  If, through the course of the investigation, more information is needed, YOU will be required to collect certified court documentation related to the charge in question and provide it to this office.

 

 

Listed below are some of the guidelines and laws related to issuing or denying a CCW permit.

 

Effective December 19, 2017, by Order of the Ohio Attorney General (Opinion 2017-045), a Sheriff shall not issue a concealed handgun license pursuant to RC 2923.125 to a person who is not eligible under Federal law to receive or possess a firearm.

 

All applicable Ohio laws, as stated on the Application Form, remain in full force and effect. If you have been convicted of the following misdemeanor crimes, you may not be issued a concealed handgun license per Federal law:

 

  • Assault
  • Negligent Assault
  • Corrupting Another with Drugs
  • Disorderly Conduct*–(RC 2917.11 A1 and/or A4) Disorderly Conduct Persistent*(RC 2917.11 E)
  • Domestic Violence (2919.25 A and/or B)
  • Endangering Children (2919.22 B1)
  • Negligent Homicide
  • Riot
  • Sexual Imposition
  • Unlawful Restraint
  • Unlawful Sexual Conduct with a Minor
  • A minor misdemeanor drug conviction per RC 2925.11 {C} {3} as set forth in 18 U.S.C.A. 922 (g) (3). Prohibition exists for 1 year from the date of conviction.

*Under Federal law, a conviction for Disorderly Conduct disqualifies an individual from owning a firearm only if the victim of the offense is an “intimate partner” as defined by 18 USC § 921(a)(32)

Note: This notice does not prevent you from completing an Application Form for the license and paying your non-refundable fee.  The purpose of the Notice is to inform you of the applicable law.

 

Qualifying/Disqualifying Factors:

With regard to the State of Ohio Application for License to Carry a Concealed Handgun, it is the intention of the Ohio Legislature that this law (RC 2923.125) is compliant with the National Instant Criminal Background check system.

This system of checks contains disqualifiers not specifically enumerated in Section III and/or IV of the license Application.

If a disqualifier is found, your application will be denied.

DISQUALIFYING Criminal History/Legal Background. PENDING Indictment or Criminal charges for:

  • Any FELONY offense
  • Any DRUG offense (except for Minor Misdemeanor drug possession or Minor Misdemeanor Drug Paraphernalia offenses outside of 1 year from conviction date)
  • Any Misdemeanor of Violence (Assault, Aggravated Menacing, Menacing by Stalking, Menacing, inciting violence, Riot, Inducing Panic, Domestic Violence)
  • Negligent Assault or Falsifying Concealed Carry application/having revoked CCW license
  • Including complicity, or attempt to commit any of the above offenses

An active SUSPENSION of an Ohio concealed carry license (or a concealed carry license of another state)

CONVICTIONS/JUVENILE ADJUDICATIONS (no time limit -ANYTIME in the past):

  • Any FELONY offense
  • Any DRUG offense(except for Minor Misdemeanor drug possession or Minor Misdemeanor drug paraphernalia outside of 1 year from conviction)
  • Assault on Police Officer
  • A conviction for Domestic Violence or a guilty or no contest plea to a lesser charge in which physical force was present
  • Including complicity, or attempt to commit any of the above offenses

 

CONVICTIONS/JUVENILE ADJUDICATIONS (within past ONE year):

Minor Misdemeanor drug possession or Minor Misdemeanor Drug Paraphernalia

CONVICTIONS/JUVENILE ADJUDICATIONS (within the past THREE years):

  • Misdemeanor of VIOLENCE except for RESISTING ARREST or ASSAULT ON POLICE OFFICER (See above and below for these offenses)
  • Falsifying Concealed Carry application/having revoked CCW license

CONVICTIONS/JUVENILE ADJUDICATIONS (within the past FIVE years):

  • TWO or more CONVICTIONS/ADJUDICATIONS

Assault or Negligent Assault

CONVICTIONS/JUVENILE ADJUDICATIONS (within the past TEN years):

  • Resisting Arrest
  • Including complicity, or attempt to commit any of the above offenses

 

ACTIVE Civil Protection Orders, Temporary Protection Order (TPO), or Protection Order from ANY State.

UNDER DISABILITY (ORC 2923.13)-Fugitive From Justice, Drug Dependent, Adjudicated Mental Incompetence, Chronic Alcoholic.

“BRADY” Disqualification -Prior conviction for ANY Domestic Violence charge under ORC 2919.25(or a similar offense from any other state).Rev. 2018-JAN

 

 

IMPORTANT SENATE BILL 81 INFORMATION

 

Senate Bill-81 which allows for veterans to receive a no-cost CCW license is effective beginning Monday, November 5th, 2018.

If you are an active, reserve, or retired member of the armed forces, or were honorably discharged, there is no fee to apply for a new or renewal license.

You must present an active duty ID or a copy of your form DD-214 showing an honorable discharge at the time of application.

NOTE: An applicant’s DD-214 must read “Honorable” or “Honorable Discharge” in the Character of Service box. “General Discharge”, “General Discharge Under Honorable Conditions”, or similar language does not meet the requirements of the Ohio Revised Code to obtain a free license.

 

The Attorney General monitors the number of license fees waived statewide and caps the total amount allowed to be waived at $1.5 million each year. When the funds are depleted statewide, the fee will no longer be waived until November 5th of the following year.

Senate Bill 81 also allows a CCW license holder to renew their license at any time before or after the expiration date.

 

Thank you,

 

Sgt. Gary Slates

740-283-8600 Office

740-283-8598 Fax